News & Announcements

Levin College Graduation and Award Ceremony

Congratulations 2021 Graduates!​​​​​​​The 2021 Maxine Goodman Levin School of Urban Affairs Graduation and Award Ceremony is on Friday, May 7, 2021. The College's graduating students are recognized for their academic achievements.

Spring 2021 Student Honors and Awards

Spring 2021 Undergraduate Valedictorian
Marymar Alhoush | Presented by Dean Roland V. Anglin

Spring 2021 Doctoral Hooding: Jinhee Yun | Hooded by Dissertation Chair, Rosie Tighe
Dissertation Title: Neighborhood Effects of Social Capital on Children and Their Meaning for Adulthood Outcomes

Russell Kashian and Susan Oneson Award
To doctoral students who successfully author or co-author an article accepted for publication or published in a peer-reviewed journal.
Presented to Jinhee Yun | Presented by Megan Hatch

John C. Little Award
To a graduating senior who epitomizes the qualities of excellence, intellectual curiosity, and personal integrity that characterized John C. Little.
Presented to Erica Henrichsen | Presented by Winifred Weizer

Outstanding Undergraduate Intern Award
Recognizes outstanding undergraduate student interns.
Presented to:
Yazeed Al-Rashdi & Emily Dahnert - Summer 2020, Amanda Houdeschell - Fall 2020, Megan Beech - Spring 2021 and Overall 2020-2021 | Presented by Beth Nagy

APA-Ohio Cleveland Section Student Award
To an outstanding mid-program MUPD student.
Presented to Shneur Kushner | Presented by Arthur Schmidt

APA-Ohio Chapter Long Journey Award
Recognizes a graduating non-traditional, mid-career planning student who has demonstrated a high level of achievement while balancing external commitments.
Presented to Malcolm Trier | Presented by Matt Schmidt

APA Outstanding Student Award
Recognizes outstanding attainment in the study of planning by students graduating from Planning Accreditation Board–accredited programs.
Presented to Rachel Riemenschneider | Presented by Joanna Ganning

Wallace G. Teare Prize
To students who exemplify the professional ideals of Mr. Teare, a life-long advocate for quality housing for low-income and elderly people.
Presented to Jameesha Alexander | Presented by Joanna Ganning

Howard I. Bruce Award
Presented annually to an Urban Studies Master’s student who most closely epitomizes the qualities of excellence, industriousness and personal integrity that characterized Howard I. Bruce.
Presented to Claire Billingsley | Presented by Sanda Kaufman

Environmental Studies Outstanding Student Award
Recognizes outstanding graduates of the MA in Environmental Studies program.
Presented to Emily Brown and Brandon Johnson | Presented by Sanda Kaufman

Nonprofit Administration and Leadership Outstanding Student Award
Recognizes an outstanding graduate of the MNAL program.
Presented to Rachel Lefebre | Presented by Clayton Wukich

Sylvester Murray Award
To a Master of Public Administration student who has excelled academically, and who exhibits outstanding potential for future success.
Presented to Anthony Kukura and Abigail Szabo | Presented by Clayton Wukich

Upsilon Sigma International Honor Society Inductions
Presented by Rosie Tighe, Upsilon Sigma Faculty Chair
Upsilon Sigma is the Urban Studies Honor Society sponsored by the Urban Affairs Association.

2021 Inductees
Marymar Alhoush
Deanna Baber
David Bass
Megan Beech
Mary Bejjani
Britney Brinson
Phillip Carman
Margaret Casey
Brittany Chafer
Ethan Dickson
Chandra Dike
Giovanni Dushaw
Rachel Eliser
Molly Farris
Troy Greenfield
Alicia Key
Maeve Kozak
Ellen Kubit
Anthony Kukura
Christian Lamielle
Isabella McKnight
Patrick Mohorcic
Frederick Moore
Benjamin Noren
Nicole Price
Catherine Purdum
Robert Putka
Rachel Riemenschneider
Ian Russell
Samantha Sopko
Madalyn Stefanak
Charles Swinney
Supriya Tamang
Valerie Temple
Alecia Webster
Courtney Whitman