News & Announcements

2018-2019 Student Awards Ceremony

Congratulations to Maxine Goodman Levin School of Urban Affairs' 2018-2019 Student Awards recipients!

Event Program | Video  

The 2019 Maxine Goodman Levin School of Urban Affairs Graduation Celebration and Award Ceremony was held on Friday, May 10, 2019. The College's graduating students and recent graduates were recognized for their academic achievements. 

2018 – 2019 Undergraduate Valedictorians
Summer/Fall 2018- Suzanna Mingus
Spring 2019- Delaney Canfield
Presented by Roland V. Anglin, Dean & Professor

2018 – 2019 Doctoral Graduates
Summer 2018- Patricia Groble, Merissa Piazza, Minkyu Yeom
Fall 2018- Chansun Hong
Spring 2019- Michelle DiStefano
Presented by Wendy Kellogg, Department Chair

Campbell-Steinbacher Fellowship
The Campbell-Steinbacher Fellowship provides an engaged, experiential research opportunity for an undergraduate student working with a Levin faculty member.
Cameron Caputi, 2018 - 2019 Fellow

Student Awards

John C. Little Award
To a graduating senior who epitomizes the qualities of excellence, intellectual curiosity, and personal integrity that characterized John C. Little.
Presented to Robert Perko | Presented by Winifred Weizer

Outstanding Undergraduate Intern Award
Recognizes outstanding undergraduate student interns.
Presented to Malena Hyde & Erin Mahoney | Presented by Rob Ziol & Alexandra Higl

APA Outstanding Student Award
Recognizes outstanding attainment in the study of planning by students graduating from Planning Accreditation Board–accredited programs.
Presented to Dro Sohrabian | Presented by Stephanie Ryberg-Webster

Wallace G. Teare Prize
To a graduating student who exemplifies the professional ideals of Mr. Teare, a life-long advocate for quality housing for low-income and elderly people.
Presented to Jennifer Chandler | Presented by Stephanie Ryberg-Webster

APA Ohio Cleveland Section Outstanding Mid-Program Student Award
To an outstanding mid-program MUPD student.
Presented to David Baas | Presented by Matthew Schmidt

Howard I. Bruce Award
To an Urban Studies graduate student who epitomize the qualities of excellence, industriousness, and personal integrity that characterized Howard I. Bruce.
Presented to Jazmyn Blockson | Presented by Brian Mikelbank

Environmental Studies Outstanding Student Award
Recognizes outstanding graduates of the MA in Environmental Studies program.
Presented to Rene Kizys & Anne Roberto
Presented by Meghan Rubado & Thomas Hilde

Nonprofit Administration and Leadership Outstanding Student Award
Recognizes an outstanding graduate of the MNAL program.
Presented to Madison Scagnetti | Presented by Robert Gleeson

Russell Kashian and Susan Oneson Award
To doctoral students who successfully author or co-author an article accepted for publication or published in a peer-reviewed journal.
Presented to Hannah Lebovits & Ruoran Liu | Presented by Wendy Kellogg

Sylvester Murray Award
To a Master of Public Administration student who has excelled academically, and who exhibits outstanding potential for future success.
Presented to Kirby Suntala & Jennifer Kons | Presented by Clayton Wukich

Honor Society Inductions

Nu Lambda Mu International Honor Society
Established by the Nonprofit Academic Centers Council to recognize students dedicated to the study of nonprofit management, philanthropy, and social enterprise.
2019 Inductees | Presented by Robert Gleeson, Associate Dean & MNAL Program Director
Chevante Kimbrough
Christina Lander
Linda Marcellus
Suzanna Mingus
Elizabeth Panhorst
Jeff Ryder

Upsilon Sigma International Honor Society
The Urban Studies Honor Society sponsored by the Urban Affairs Association.
2019 Inductees | Presented by Rosie Tighe, Faculty Chair
Chelsea Beytas
David Bryant
William Butterfield
Amelia Caldwell
Daniel Carr
Michelle DiStefano
Daniel Dunchack
Leora Gregory
Brian Guarniere
Erica Henrichsen
Otis Hooper
Aaron Kahn
Cait Kennedy
Newton S. Kimberly III
Chevante Kimbrough
Rene Kizys
Alice Legg
MacJilton Lewis
Alexandra Malkin
Madison Mercer
Suzanna Mingus
Jennifer Phillips
Ashley Christina Reddick
Jeff Ryder
Jeremy Shawe
Kirby Suntala
Julia Taylor
Abigail Uveges
John Vokac