

## In Tribute

TO THE PUBLIC SERVICE SCHOLARSHIP & AWARD EVENT



Tuesday, January 12, 2016 6:00 p.m. Program and Awards Ceremony 7:00 p.m. Cocktail Reception

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs Atrium 1717 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio

**RSVP** by Tuesday, December 29

Email: intribute@csuohio.edu • Call: 216.687.2254

## HONORING

**Dennis M. Lafferty**, Vice President, Bernie Moreno Companies, formerly of Jones Day

**Bruce H. Akers**, former Senior Vice President of Civic Affairs, Key Bank and retired Mayor, City of Pepper Pike

**James L. Mason**, former Vice President of Public and Community Affairs, Eaton Corporation

**Allan C. Krulak**, former Vice President-Director of Community Affairs, Forest City Enterprises, Inc.

## **About**

This year's honorees are a remarkable foursome who have had a significant impact on Northeast Ohio, both through their careers in the corporate world and their support for nonprofit organizations across the spectrum, including the Levin College of Urban Affairs. For many years, all four were the public faces of their companies for philanthropic and governmental affairs. Key Bank, Forest City, Jones Day, Bernie Moreno Companies, and Eaton all benefited greatly from their knowledge and commitment. As a team, they made United Way events successful, provided leadership for a range of Growth Association and Cleveland Tomorrow initiatives, and were the doers behind community leaders such as Dick Pogue, Bob Gillespie, Henry Meyer, Albert Ratner, Sam Miller, Sandy Cutler and Bernie Moreno. Political leaders including Ralph Perk, Mike White, George Voinovich and Tim Hagan all benefited from their wise counsel.

Please join us as we salute Bruce Akers, Allan Krulak, Dennis Lafferty and Jim Mason for their remarkable careers, tireless work and lasting achievements, while supporting scholarships for students attending the Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs who aspire to careers in public service.

## In Tribute To The Public Service Award Recipients

2015 Robert P. Madison

2013 Steven C. LaTourette

2011 Joseph D. Roman

2010 Mayor Frank G. Jackson

2009 Judy & Bob Rawson

2007 Frederick R. Nance

2006 Jeanette Grasselli Brown

2005 Alexander M. Cutler

2004 Jerry Sue Thornton

2003 William J. Reidy

2002 Reverend Dr. Otis Moss, Jr. & Bishop Anthony M. Pilla

2001 William B. Summers, Jr.

2000 James M. Petro

1999 Richard W. Poque

1998 Alex Machaskee

1997 Timothy F. Hagan

1996 Carole F. Hoover

1995 Samuel H. Miller & Louis Stokes

1994 George L. Forbes

1993 Patrick A. Sweeney

1992 Michael R. White

1991 Nona M. Burney, H. Jerome Crittendon & Linda Edwards

1989 George V. Voinovich

1988 Anthony J. Celebrezze & Anthony J. Celebrezze, Jr.

1987 Steven A. Minter

1986 J. Richard Kelso

1985 Mercedes Cotner

In Tribute supports the Mercedes Cotner Endowed Scholarship for Levin College undergraduate and graduate students