Maxine Goodman Levin School of Urban Affairs Faculty and Staff

Levin Chair

Albert A. Levin Chair of Urban Studies and Public Service

The Albert A. Levin Chair of Urban Studies and Public Service was the first endowed chair established at Cleveland State University. The chair is dedicated to the memory of Albert A. Levin, a Cleveland attorney involved in commercial real estate who was committed to the preservation of the city as a vital center. The general purpose of the Levin Chair is to attract leading professionals in the field of urban affairs to Cleveland State University. The chair holder is involved with both the community and university, acting as a catalyst in relating the resources of the university to the needs and problems of the urban community. Activities of the chair holder are directed toward providing diverse public lectures and engaging in significant research and problem solving with faculty, students, and community groups.

Year Levin Chairs
2014 - Present Robert (Bob) Gleeson 
2012-2014 Vacant
2007-2012 Jeffrey L. Brudney
2003-2005 Janet Kelly
1997-2002 Camilla Stivers
1994-1995 Robert J. Waste
1991-1993 James M. Banovetz
1989-1991 David C. Perry
1987-1988 Phillip L. Clay
1985-1986 Wilbur R. Thompson
1982-1984 Edgar A. Rose
1982-1984 Paul R. Porter
1981-1982 Martin Rein
1980-1981 Sarah Short Austin
1978-1979 Wolf Von Eckardt
1977-1978 David O. Meeker